Asian Pacific Islander Caucus

*** The API Caucus has launched a new website: ***

Mission Statement

To support and advance Asian Pacific Islander (API) local elected officials and promote the well-being of the diverse API community throughout the state.


  • Provide leadership development opportunities;
  • Increase APIs in civic engagement and leadership roles in all levels of government;
  • Partner with likeminded organizations and key stakeholders; and
  • Advocate for the interests of the diverse API communities.

Board of Directors

  • President: Polly Low, Council Member, City of Rosemead
  • First Vice President: Wayne Lee, Council Member, City of Millbrae
  • Second Vice President: Stephen Sham, Council Member, City of Alhambra
  • Immediate Past President: Suzanne Chan, Council Member, City of Fremont
  • Treasurer/Secretary: Gilbert Wong, Council Member, City of Cupertino
  • Director at Large: Rachelle Arizmendi, Council Member, City of Sierra Madre
  • Director at Large: Jeffrey Gee, Mayor, City of Redwood
  • Director at Large: Rishi Kumar, Council Member, City of Saratoga
  • Director at Large: Jason Pu, Mayor, City of San Gabriel
  • Director at Large: David Ryu, Council Member, City of Los Angeles
  • Director at Large: Ali Taj, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Artesia


The API Caucus connects you to important policy makers in Washington D. C. and Sacramento including the California Constitutional Officers, the Legislature and the API Legislative Caucus as well as corporate and civic leaders. We open doors and build relationships with individuals who are in public policy decision-making positions.

To join, please complete either submit membership dues via the online portal or fill out the membership form and send with membership dues to:

League of California Cities
1400 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

Contact Information

Please contact Annie V. Lam, executive director at (916) 955-6766 for membership inquiries and API partnership opportunities.

We have a new website! Visit the new API Caucus website at

© League of California Cities